error in adl4.1 build

Issues related to installation of ADL
Post Reply
lucy liu
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:02 am

error in adl4.1 build

Post by lucy liu »

I got following errors when I run ./buildAdl.ksh. Please help, thanks.

Building library in ./total_column/src...
make[3]: Entering directory `/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/SDR/OMPS/total_column/src'
/usr/bin/gfortran -m64 -fPIC -ffree-form -fimplicit-none -fno-underscoring -ggdb3 -xf95-cpp-input -J"../include" -DGCC -xf95-cpp-input -finit-local-zero -fbounds-check -fpack-derived -I../include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/SDR/OMPS/VerifiedRdr/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/DMS/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/common/exceptions/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/common/util/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/util/cfg/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/util/time/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/INF/tk/util/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/CMN/Utilities/ING/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/common/local/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/common/local/include -I/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/common/local/include -c tc_utils.f -o tc_utils.o
cc1: error: unrecognized command line option "-finit-local-zero"
make[3]: *** [tc_utils.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/SDR/OMPS/total_column/src'
make[2]: *** [library] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/SDR/OMPS'
make[1]: *** [library] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/net/rhs2001/home/CSPP/ADL/SDR'
make: *** [library] Error 2
kbisanz
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Omaha NE

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by kbisanz »

It appears that somehow the C/C++ compiler (not the fortran compiler) is being invoked with -finit-local-zero. I believe cc1 is part of the C/C++ compiler in the line "cc1: error: unrecognized command line option "-finit-local-zero""

If you do a "/usr/bin/gfortran --version" what's the output?

Will you be at the upcoming ADL workshop?
Kevin Bisanz
Raytheon Company
lucy liu
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:02 am

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by lucy liu »

GNU Fortran (GCC) 4.1.2 20080704 (Red Hat 4.1.2-52)
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.

GNU Fortran comes with NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.
You may redistribute copies of GNU Fortran
under the terms of the GNU General Public License.
For more information about these matters, see the file named COPYING.

By the way, I will attend the workshop. Thanks.
kbisanz
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Omaha NE

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by kbisanz »

You need to use gcc/g++/gfortran version 4.4 or later. Version 4.1.2 will not work. Note, if you use too new of a version you may also have issues. It was tested with version 4.4.0 and I think works with 4.4.x and possibly 4.5 or 4.6

It appears you're using the virtual appliance. I think the path the compilers is in envSetup.*. If you have issues, please post back. Raytheon doesn't have access to the UW virtual appliance for legal/security reasons so that's why I can't give you a more specific answer.

I will not be attending the workshop this time, but some other ADL team members are.
Kevin Bisanz
Raytheon Company
lucy liu
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:02 am

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by lucy liu »

I am not using virtual appliance but ADL4.1 in linux.
Thanks very much for prompt reply.
scottm

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by scottm »

Using ADL with different compiler versions. The version I have found with the least problems is 4.4.5. I have also built ADL with 4.4.6 and 4.6 however you will run into Fortran problems. There is a patch available on the down load page. This has been used to build ADL 4.1 on the Science Appliance. You can use either source as an example.
kbisanz
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Omaha NE

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by kbisanz »

As scottm said, UW created a patch to allow other versions of the compiler to be used. If you go to https://jpss-adl-wiki.ssec.wisc.edu/med ... /Downloads and then search for SSEC_ADL4_1.patch you should see it.

I had assumed you were using the virtual appliance because I saw "CSPP" in your paths.
Kevin Bisanz
Raytheon Company
houchin
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:20 am

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by houchin »

Since we're talking about compilers again ...

My recommendation is to install your own copy of whatever version of gcc/gfortran is specified by Raython. Many of the Linux distributions, particularly the enterprise focused ones, are stuck on pretty old versions, and as Kevin noted, going too new can also be a problem; thus the only one you can trust to get a suitable compiler version is yourself.

Compiling gcc is relatively painless, although the build takes a very long time. As part of the AeroADL, the rebranded Aerospace Front End to ADL, I install gcc 4.4.5, and I have a script for installing as part of the AeroADL configuration:

You can get it from the new GRAVITE data portal:
Scott Houchin, Senior Engineering Specialist, The Aerospace Corporation
15049 Conference Center Dr CH3/310, Chantilly, VA 20151; 571-307-3914; scott.houchin@aero.org
lucy liu
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:02 am

Re: error in adl4.1 build

Post by lucy liu »

I have different gcc versions on the server. The problem remains after I point the related environmental variable to the right version 4.4.6.
But later I found that cots is installed under a different gcc version so I finally reinstalled COTS, perl and rebuilt ADL, now it is fine. Thanks you all for your help.
Post Reply