Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Issues related to runtime execution of algorithms in ADL

Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby ljiang » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:30 pm

I heard that ADL4.1 support parallel computing. Anyone has the details, e.g. how to setup, etc? Thanks a lot :D
Lide Jiang
CIRA @ NOAA/NESDIS/STAR
ljiang
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby bhenders » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:23 pm

ADL 4.1 supports running multiple processes in the TK Chain Runner GUI tool. So for instance, if you are trying to run a granule for Surface Albedo EDR it can be configured to run multiple processes in parallel when possible. That Surface Albedo EDR would need 9 granules of VIIRS SDR processed, those granules can be run in parallel with the TK Chain Runner GUI. The command line TK Chain Runner in ADL 4.1 does not currently support multiple processes but we have made a fix for this which we plan to make available as part of an ADL 4.1 patch.

If you are talking about parallel computing within an executable or process, such as at the indvidual algorithm level, ADL does not support parallel computing here because the sustainment architecture has not embraced parallel computing at this level, as they want Work Flow Manager (WFM) to controll the CPUs, memory at the process level. This may change in IDPS with ongoing development.

There are some aspects of ADL that is making use of OpenMP to do parallel processing, such as building the DMS inventory for the ADL execubable or application, but there is no parallel computing being done at the algorithm level.

Hope this answer your question regarding parallel computing, but if not please post back.

Thanks,

Bryan Henderson
Raytheon Company
bhenders
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:27 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Re: Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby ljiang » Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:46 am

Bryan, thanks for the info!
Lide Jiang
CIRA @ NOAA/NESDIS/STAR
ljiang
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby wzchen » Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:33 pm

I am wondering when this patch will be available? Thanks.

bhenders wrote:ADL 4.1 supports running multiple processes in the TK Chain Runner GUI tool. ....... but we have made a fix for this which we plan to make available as part of an ADL 4.1 patch.

Raytheon Company
wzchen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby kbisanz » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:55 pm

Did you download tar files and install/compile COTS software from scratch, or are you using the University of Wisconsin's virtual appliance?
Kevin Bisanz
Raytheon Company
kbisanz
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Omaha NE

Re: Parallel computing capability of ADL4.1

Postby kbisanz » Tue May 28, 2013 9:01 am

This patch can be applied to the virtual appliance as described here: https://jpss-adl-wiki.ssec.wisc.edu/med ... HEON_patch

If you have compiled from source, you can apply the patch by following the directions in https://jpss.ssec.wisc.edu/adl/download ... readme.txt
Kevin Bisanz
Raytheon Company
kbisanz
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Omaha NE


Return to Runtime

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron