Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Data formats, HDF5, XML profiles, etc.
Post Reply
Nima
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by Nima »

Hello!

I ran ProEdrOCCContorller.exe. and received the following error:

Code: Select all

ProCmnAlgorithm[ProEdrViirsOCC]::handleInputQuery(NPP001212015235) [0x2ef7fc0] ROOT PRO_FAIL Required input not available for Shortname: VIIRS-CM-IP , Granule ID: NPP001212015235 Failure(s):  (VIIRS-CM-IP, NPP001212015235) from file ProCmnAlgorithm.cpp, line 7880
The exe complains about missing VIIRS cloud mask files,which do exist in the input directory. Four of such IPs corresponding to 4 granules exist:
  • 5069076e-60c7c-007f0100-2d41efaa.asc
    5069076e-60c7c-007f0100-2d41efaa.VIIRS-CM-IP
    50690773-c0c2a-007f0100-358f13fd.asc
    50690773-c0c2a-007f0100-358f13fd.VIIRS-CM-IP
    5069077b-59b2a-007f0100-35046b05.asc
    5069077b-59b2a-007f0100-35046b05.VIIRS-CM-IP
    5069077c-7ad43-007f0100-0c105cff.asc
    5069077c-7ad43-007f0100-0c105cff.VIIRS-CM-IP
The other files required by the exe (eg. SVMs, GEOs, SSTs,etc.) exist in the same input directory. I grabbed all these from CLASS and unpacked them using HDFUnpacker.exe.

I would appreciate it if you help me with solving this problem.

Thanks,
Nima :)
Nima Pahlevan
UMass Boston
ljiang
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by ljiang »

Nima,

make sure the CM-IP corresponding to the granule is there. Can you output the granule IDs of the four CM-IPs? (It's in the metadata asc file)
Lide Jiang
CIRA @ NOAA/NESDIS/STAR
Nima
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by Nima »

Lide:

It seems like the OCC algorithm still looks for the granule ID associated with OCC sample inputs (provided with ADL) residing in

$ADL_HOME/data/input/witMetadata/ProEdrViirsOCCControllerInputs/

I changed the exe configuration file (*Lwfile.xml) to read the inputs from another path (where all the SDR,IPs, andSSTs exist) but not sure why still looks for the data in the directory as it was initially set for! it seems like it looks for the data in the new path but actually still looks for the sample inputs.

Do I have to build/source the code when I change the I/O path in the *Lwfile.xml?

Appreciate it!

Thanks,
Nima
Nima Pahlevan
UMass Boston
ljiang
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by ljiang »

There is no need to re-compile. It should work by just changing the Lw file. What command line you use to run the process?
Nima wrote:Lide:

It seems like the OCC algorithm still looks for the granule ID associated with OCC sample inputs (provided with ADL) residing in

$ADL_HOME/data/input/witMetadata/ProEdrViirsOCCControllerInputs/

I changed the exe configuration file (*Lwfile.xml) to read the inputs from another path (where all the SDR,IPs, andSSTs exist) but not sure why still looks for the data in the directory as it was initially set for! it seems like it looks for the data in the new path but actually still looks for the sample inputs.

Do I have to build/source the code when I change the I/O path in the *Lwfile.xml?

Appreciate it!

Thanks,
Nima
Lide Jiang
CIRA @ NOAA/NESDIS/STAR
Nima
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by Nima »

I use

~/CSPP/ADL/bin/ProEdrViirsOCCController.exe ~/CSPP/ADL/cfg/dynamic/withMetadata/ProEdrViirsOCCControllerLwFile.xml

Also, do I need the LUT binary files in the same directory? Does it matter?

Thanks,
Nima
Nima Pahlevan
UMass Boston
ljiang
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by ljiang »

Yes, all inputs must be present in the input directory. Or you can use more than one input directories separated by a colon ':'

Nima wrote:I use

~/CSPP/ADL/bin/ProEdrViirsOCCController.exe ~/CSPP/ADL/cfg/dynamic/withMetadata/ProEdrViirsOCCControllerLwFile.xml

Also, do I need the LUT binary files in the same directory? Does it matter?

Thanks,
Nima
Lide Jiang
CIRA @ NOAA/NESDIS/STAR
tjensen
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:09 pm
Location: Omaha, NE

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by tjensen »

Hi Nima,

Can you post a copy of your exe configuration file (LW file)?

In addition to updating the input directory, did you also update the granule ID you wish to run in that file?

Code: Select all

  <task>
    <taskType>EDR</taskType>
    <taskDetails1>NPP001212025477</taskDetails1>  // Replace this with the granule ID you wish to run
    <taskDetails2>A1</taskDetails2>
    <taskDetails3>NPP</taskDetails3>
    <taskDetails4>VIIRS</taskDetails4>
  </task>
More information on the execuatable configuration files can be found in the ADL SW User's Manual Part 2, section 5.2.3.
Tim Jensen
Raytheon Company
Nima
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:56 pm

Re: Problem with Cloud Masks Not Found in Input Path

Post by Nima »

Hi Tim

Yep! You are aright, I needed to modify the granule ID!

Thank a lot
Nima
Nima Pahlevan
UMass Boston
Post Reply